Cast Revealed for Disney’s Australian Original Series ‘The Artful Dodger’

Thomas Brodie-Sangster in The Artful Dodger
Courtesy of The Walt Disney Company

The new Disney Plus Australian original series “The Artful Dodger” has commenced filming in New South Wales.

To mark the beginning of production, Disney has revealed the cast of the eight-part series, which includes international stars and local screen identities.

The story set in 1850s Australia, based on the story by Charles Dickens.

Thomas Brodie-Sangster (“Pistol” and “The Queen’s Gambit”) will star as the titular character, Jack Dawkins, AKA The Artful Dodger. David Thewlis (“Landscapers” and “Fargo”) takes on the role of Fagin, while Australian Maia Mitchell (“Good Trouble” and “The Fosters”) will be Lady Belle Fox.

Other Australian talent will also feature in the series, including Damon Herriman (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”), Miranda Tapsell (“Top End Wedding”), Tim Minchin (“Upright”), Susie Porter (“Wentworth”), Kym Gyngell (“Love Me”), Damien Garvey (“Jack Irish”), Jessica De Gouw (“The Secrets She Keeps”), Andrea Demetriades (“Seven Types of Ambiguity”), Luke Carroll (“Upright”) and Huw Higginson (“Total Control”).

Rising stars Lucy-Rose Leonard, Nicholas Burton, Jude Hyland, Finn Treacy and Albert Latailakepa have also joined the cast.

‘The Artful Dodger’ is currently filming in New South Wales Courtesy of The Walt Disney Company

“The Artful Dodger” is a co-production with Sony Pictures Television, and is produced by Beach Road Pictures and SPT’s Curio Pictures.

It was co-created and executive produced by Beach Road Pictures’ David Maher and David Taylor, while Jo Porter represents Curio Pictures as EP.

The producing team is completed by James McNamara (co-creator and co-executive producer), Andrew Knight (co-executive producer and writer), Jeffrey Walker (co-executive producer and director) and Ross Allsop (producer).

Jeffrey Walker (“Modern Family”), meanwhile, serves as set-up director and co-executive producer, with Corrie Chen (“New Gold Mountain”) and Gracie Otto (“Heartbreak High“) on board as directors.

The series was written by James McNamara, Andrew Knight, Vivienne Walshe, Dan Knight and Miranda Tapsell.

Financial support for the production was provided by the State Government via Screen NSW’s Made in NSW fund.